Portable power stations in the UK: specs compared
Advertising disclosure: This page contains no affiliate links.
This table lists portable power stations sold in the UK using the figures each manufacturer publishes on its UK website. It's in alphabetical order by brand. Sources are listed under the table, and each row shows the date we last checked it against the maker's page.
Compared on manufacturers' published specs. Ferncharge has not tested these products. We don't rank, score or pick winners. We don't show prices because they change often: check the current price on the maker's UK product page, linked in the sources under the table.
Not sure what size you need? Start with the sizing calculator, then compare your result with the capacity and AC output columns.
Spec table
| Brand and model | Capacity (Wh) | Chemistry, cycle life (as stated) | AC continuous / surge (W) | UK sockets | 12 V car socket | Stated UPS switchover | Weight | Warranty (UK) | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anker SOLIX C1000 | 1,056 | LFP, 3,000 cycles (basis not stated) | 1,800 / SurgePad up to 2,400 (see note) | 4 | 12 V 10 A (120 W max) | 20 ms | 12.9 kg | 5 years | 18 Oct 2026 |
| BLUETTI AC180 | 1,152 | LiFePO4, 3,500+ cycles to 80% | 1,800 / 2,700 | 2 | 12 V/10 A | 20 ms | about 16 kg | 5 years | 18 Oct 2026 |
| EcoFlow RIVER 3 | 245 | LiFePO4, 3,000 cycles to 80% | 300 / 600 (X-Boost 600) | 1 | 12.6 V, 10 A, 126 W max | under 20 ms | 3.55 kg | Not stated on the UK product page (checked 18 Oct 2026) | 18 Oct 2026 |
| Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 | 1,070 | LiFePO4, 4,000 cycles (stated "at 70% capacity") | 1,500 / 3,000 surge peak | 2 | 12 V 10 A | 20 ms or less | about 10.8 kg (23.8 lb) | 3 years standard + 2 years extended | 18 Oct 2026 |
Sources (checked 18 October 2026): Anker SOLIX UK spec page and UK user guide · BLUETTI UK · EcoFlow UK · Jackery UK product page and official user manual (GB English section; the UK page gives the weight as 23.8 lb and the warranty).
Notes on the columns
- Boost and surge: Anker says SurgePad lets the C1000 power high-wattage devices up to 2,400 W, activating when total output exceeds the rated output and delivering rated power to them. It says heat-generating devices work best and it doesn't support precision instruments. Jackery's 3,000 W is a stated surge peak, not a heating-device mode. BLUETTI says Power Lifting runs resistive heating devices up to 2,700 W. EcoFlow says the RIVER 3 "can power 600W heating devices" with X-Boost. Boost figures aren't continuous ratings.
- Cycle life is quoted as each maker states it, including the capacity it refers to (for example "to 80%"). Different bases aren't directly comparable.
- UPS switchover is the time the maker states for taking over when mains power fails. Check the maker's guidance on what it's suitable for.
What the columns mean
- Capacity (Wh): the stored energy. It decides how long things run. Usable energy is lower: we assume 90% for LiFePO4 (methodology).
- AC continuous (W): the most the mains sockets supply at once. Surge is a brief higher peak for start-up spikes.
- 12 V car socket: the current rating (A) matters for 12 V fridges and blankets.
- Chemistry: LiFePO4 (LFP) or NMC, as the maker states.
- Weight: matters for camping and carrying.
Flying
All four models above exceed the Civil Aviation Authority's 160 Wh limit (the smallest, the RIVER 3, is 245 Wh) for lithium batteries in passenger baggage. Batteries between 100 and 160 Wh need airline approval (CAA).
FAQs
Which portable power station should I buy?
We don't make recommendations. Work out your capacity and output needs with the calculator, then compare the stated specs here.
Do these have UK plugs?
The table shows the number of AC sockets the maker states for its UK model. Check the UK product page before buying.
How do you choose which models to list?
We aim to list models sold on brands' UK websites, whether or not they have an affiliate programme. See our advertising disclosure and methodology.
Why is there no price column?
Prices change often, so we don't quote one that may be wrong. Each model's UK product page is linked in the sources under the table, so you can check the current price there.
Related: Runtime calculator · Power stations for power cuts · Power station for camping · Power station safety